Political System


Republican, multi-authority and independent authority

The executive branch is currently headed by the president of the ANR (National Republican Union) Party, which has the power to appoint ministers. The presidential term is five years and the current president's term of office began on 15 August 2013 and the wisdom period expires on 15 August 2018,

The Legislative Power (National Parliament) consists of two Houses of the Senate and the House of Representatives and each of the President's Council is appointed for one year in the Senate and two years in the House of Representatives. At the same time, the National Assembly is presided over by the President of the Senate, which begins on 01/07 of each year and ends on 30/06.

The Judicial Authority, chaired by the Supreme Judicial Council and composed of nine members, is nominated annually to chair this authority.

Internal politics and Situation

There are several political parties where citizens have freedom to join any of them. The largest party is the ruling party now (Colorado), followed by the Liberal Party and the leftist party as well as some small parties.

Religions spread throughout the country

The majority of citizens confess the Catholic religion led by Pope Francisco, and there is freedom to practice other religions, where there is an Islamic Center for the Arab community as well which is  located in the capital Asunción.

Foreign Policy

The Paraguayan government continues its policy of communication and openness with many countries without any significant change in the previous political positions that affirm Paraguay's respect for UN resolutions and the right of peoples to self-determination and focus on economic affairs. The visits of officials aim at highlighting the country's economic position, attracting investments, the domestic market to absorb more foreign capital, especially in the construction and agricultural production sectors.